top of page

understanding

Updated: Oct 22, 2023

I didn't sleep well last night. I'm sure there are many factors to consider that will explain why. I'll simply admit, I didn't sleep well last night and I know one of the reasons why. Going to bed with questions spiraling in my mind, isn't an ingredient in the recipe for good sleep, I know. I was trying to make sense of something that my mind could not and still does not understand. Nothing "bad" happened, I just don't see or know how this thing on my mind will work out for my good.


“And we know [with great confidence] that God [who is deeply concerned about us] causes all things to work together [as a plan] for good for those who love God, to those who are called according to His plan and purpose.”

I know that just because I do not see or know how it will work out for my good, that doesn't mean that it won't work out for my good.


I woke up at 3:50 this morning with MookStar Dash's voice in my head singing, "trust in the Father, trust in, trust in, trust in the father... lean not to your own understanding" from the snippet of her virtual concert that she posted on Instagram quite some time ago.



Anywho ... that line, "trust in the Father, trust in, trust in, trust in the father... lean not to your own understanding" naturally lead me to, “Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; And lean not unto thine own understanding.” Proverbs‬ ‭3‬:‭5‬ ‭ is a verse that has been archived in my earliest memories and one that I reference quite often. However, when I opened my Bible App to read it, my focus landed on the word understanding. If you haven't noticed yet, its the my word of the day.


In natural Ariel fashion, I read different translations of Proverbs 3:5 and here are my top faves (minus the King James Version, which is the first translation I learned and became familiar with this verse in)


‬‬ Amplified Bible- “Trust in and rely confidently on the Lord with all your heart And do not rely on your own insight or understanding.”

Good News Translation- “Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Never rely on what you think you know.”

‭‬‬

Common English Bible‬‬- “Trust in the LORD with all your heart; don’t rely on your own intelligence.”

‭‭

After reading different translations for this verse, I them looked up the meaning of the word understanding. As a result of this, along with some reflection and introspection, I came to the conclusion shared below.


understanding

Date: 10/21/23

Written: 4:09am

Edited: sometime after sunrise


Our understanding is oftentimes based on our perception and is therefore biased by our perception. The way we perceive something can be influenced by our past experiences, present circumstances and our desire to not repeat either for our future. All of which can be positive, negative and anywhere in between. I've personally learned that my trauma and insecurities shape my perception, thus impacting my understanding and creating a filter through which I see the world.


I believe we view life through the lens of what we've experienced (positive, negative and you know the rest). However, sometimes we fail to see that what we've experienced in life, is not all that life has to offer us. When someone views something as a positive experience, for me it might provoke a negative reaction because of my life's experiences. I might not be able to understand, what I experienced as a negative could be a positive for someone else. Therefore, my understanding is clouded by my perception due to my experience.


Our perception can be limited to and influenced by our environment, experiences and interactions or lack thereof. If all we know is all we know, then that's all we know. So the more we know, the more we'll grow. As our understanding grows through change, transitions and new experiences, our perception evolves. Yet, our understanding is still finite, because it is still bound by and to the circumstances in which we are surrounded by.


God, our father is infinite. He is not bound by the limitations of the space and time in which we reside. He exists, operates and functions independently of all of the things we as humans are subject to. He is not limited to 12 months in a year, 7 days in a week, 24 hours in a day or 60 seconds in a minute. He is outside of time and space, yet he works within its confounds to meet all of our needs. So why not trust in him? God is not limited by our limitations. He is not bound to the constraints of our intellect, education, health, finances, or human responsibilities.


As vast as man's knowledge, wisdom and understanding may be, it is only a fraction of God's capabilities.


So we must intentionally trust in him and his unfathomable complexities. For it is easy to trust in what our eyes can seen but why not trust in the one whose infinite possibilities align with his plans for me? He is the creator of all things, including me.


“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; And lean not unto thine own understanding.”


I know trusting in God requires patience in his timing, submission to his will, and death to our will and way. I know that trusting in God rarely makes sense. I know, trusting in God goes beyond our logic and reason. To trust in someone we cannot see but made all things that are seen. I know. I know being still and waiting on God is not the easiest thing we as humans can do. I know. I know it's hard, frustrating, discouraging and sometimes confusing. All I can say is, he didn't bring you this far to just leave you where you are.


We just have to learn to lean and depend on him. One day at a time, hour by hour, minute by minute and second by second.


Oh yeah ... and keep reading Proverbs 3 ... go to verse 6


Good News Translation- “Remember the Lord in everything you do, and he will show you the right way.”


King James Version- “In all thy ways acknowledge him, And he shall direct thy paths.”

‭‭ ‭

Easy-To-Read Version- “With every step you take, think about what he wants, and he will help you go the right way.”


Amplified Bible- “In all your ways know and acknowledge and recognize Him, And He will make your paths straight and smooth [removing obstacles that block your way].”



Godspeed,

SimplyAriRenee


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page